PFRPA Members Inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Aug 23, 2023

Three members of the Pro Football Retired Players Association (PFRPA) were enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023 on Aug. 5 in Canton, Ohio.

Joe Klecko, Joe Thomas and DeMarcus Ware, each with an impressive record of individual career achievements to their name, join PFRPA’s special group of Hall of Famers, including PFRPA Board Members Mike Haynes, Ron Mix, Dave Robinson, Mike Singletary, Jackie Slater and Jack Youngblood.

Joe Klecko (Defensive End, Defensive Tackle, Nose Tackle)
New York Jets 1977-1987, Indianapolis Colts 1988
The only player in NFL history to be selected to the Pro Bowl at all three positions across the defensive line, Klecko was selected first-team All-Pro twice (1981 and 1985) and All-AFC three times (1981, 1983 and 1985). He won four Pro Bowls in 1982, 1984, 1985 and 1986, finishing his career with 78 sacks in 155 games.

Joe Thomas (Offensive Tackle)
Cleveland Browns 2007-2017
Thomas played 10,363 consecutive snaps throughout his career, earning a Pro Bowl selection in each of his first ten seasons and was selected first-team All-Pro six times (2009-2011, 2013-15). He was inducted into the Cleveland Browns Legends Program in 2022.

DeMarcus Ware (Linebacker/Defensive End)
Dallas Cowboys 2005-2013, Denver Broncos 2014-2016
A member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s, Ware had 138.5 career sacks in 12 pro seasons, made first-team All-Pro four times and was selected to nine Pro Bowls (2007-2013, 2015-2016).

The PFRPA congratulates these distinguished members, along with the rest of this year’s class, on etching their names in NFL history and commends their extraordinary careers.


Request to Publish

Are you sure? This can't be undone

Mark as Harmful

Publish with